My Support System

When I decided to homeschool, I may have made a selfish decision. I didn’t discuss the decision with anyone, other than my husband and kids. I didn’t want to hear all the nay-sayers. I didn’t need their negative comments. I honestly just didn’t want to hear about it.

I knew my family, as well as my husbands would have the typical “You’re crazy!” response. I didn’t want that. I didn’t want them giving me guilt about it. I was excited and didn’t want anyone wiping the smile off of my face.

With that being said, they took the news really well. They didn’t complain (too much) that my children wouldn’t get enough socialization or that I was in over my head.

Now- they are pretty much on-board. I honestly think they are kinda impressed (although they wouldn’t admit it to me) and think I’m doing an amazing job. (That’s what I tell myself anyways. They really don’t show any interest or disinterest in it at all. They just kinda ignore it altogether.)

However- could I homeschool without the support of our family? No way, Jose! My husband is self employed in the construction world. (Read: long hours)

My mom doesn’t work and lives just a half mile or so away from us. She’s constantly dropping by to hang out with the kids. And I’m pretty sure Emersyn would just live with my mom, if I would let her. She asks to stay the night basically every night. Not only that, but my mom is always willing to go to town with me when we need to run errands. She keeps my kids while I go grocery shopping. She never says she can’t help me. Her grandkids come first, always.

1185437_10201680192189025_593952369_n

{Grandma with the girls on their first day of school in 2013}

She’s not the only one (although she is definitely my main back-up for now!)

My in-laws will keep my kids anytime I ask. They both work but are retiring at the end of the year and I imagine I’ll be seeing them a lot more. Anytime we need a sitter in the evenings, they’re always there to help.
My gorgeous niece, Madison is also a life-saver.

1379527_597452026981976_1431970338_n

She works and will be starting college in the fall, but she is always willing to drop what she’s doing and come over.  Even if I just need a day to get my house clean, she’ll come over and take the kids outside to go swimming. I love that girl. I hope my girls turn out as good as her! She is such a Godly woman and I can’t wait to see her grow in the years to come!

Do you have a HUGE support system or none at all? I know just how incredibly lucky I am to have such great helpers. I couldn’t do it without them!

2 thoughts on “My Support System

  1. I just stumbled across your blog here. Let me first welcome you into the wonderful insanity that is homeschooling! I too have an awesome support system in my family, but more than that, I have an amazing support group of other homeschoolers. I have been a part of a homeschool co-op for 13 years, and since I began my own blog I have also found a vast community of like-minded women in cyberspace. I love how homeschooling, much like being automatic ‘family’ as Christians, bonds people in a unique way. Good luck to you on your journey. I look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Like

    • I agree! One of the most amazing things about homeschooling is the support that other homeschooling moms have given me! In public school, it seemed like everyone was just trying to outdo each other. Homeschooling moms seem so supportive and helpful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

