“Decorating with Junk”: Living Room Edition

WP_20140806_014

I really don’t like to go shopping. Whether it’s clothes or decorations, I’d much rather buy it used. Better for the environment, better for the economy and better for my bank account.

I’ve literally decorated my entire house with yard sale, auction and thrift store finds and DIY projects.

Yet, people always make comments to me about how they would love to be able to decorate their house, but they just can’t afford it. I’m here to tell ya, it doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg to be beautiful!

I’m getting ready to start changing up my decorations a bit, so I figured I’d share it before it’s gone forever and prove to you that you can have a nicely decorated house if you use your imagination!

WP_20140806_013

An old cabinet door I picked up at a flea market years ago, when I was first married. One of the few things that has remained in my house for a long period of time. Right now, it serves as a frame to some family photos, but it’s been known to change it’s look often.

I just love the crystal knob.

I paid about $15 for it and I remember thinking it was way too expensive for what it was! My, how my thought have changed over the years.

WP_20140806_009

A huge window that the Hubs brought home from work for me. It’s the little things that prove how much he loves me. 🙂
I bought the vinyl wording off of Etsy for about $45. This will be leaving my house soon. I loved it at first, but I’m just ready for a change.

WP_20140806_012

A chippy 16 pane window I picked up at a yard sale for $7. I originally planned to fill it with favorite photographs but decided that would be too “busy” for this space. The grapevine wreath was picked up at a yard sale for $.50 and I added some burlap flowers that I DIY’ed.
This “catch all” is located behind our front door. Simply scrap wood with hooks for coats and backpacks, it cost about $20 for the hooks, while everything else was stuff I had on hand.

WP_20140806_003

One of my recent garage sale scores, this blue table was just $3!!! It stunk to high-Heaven when I got it, but it was nothing a little Vinegar and fresh air couldn’t take care of.

I immediately knew it would be the perfect replacement for my red TV Stand that I’ve had for several years. I was looking for something more open and airy, with a bit of charm.

The suitcase underneath the table houses the Hubs’ X-box games and the basket holds his controllers. I bought it at an auction for $4.
The 2 porcelain “bowls” were also found at the same sale as the table. Only $.50 each, they will eventually hold some wheat grass.

The long flat basket was bought at a yard sale for $1 and is the perfect size to corral our remotes.

WP_20140806_006

This old pie safe was a Craigslist score. I think I paid around $150 for it, but I loved it chippy charm from the moment I saw it! It holds several blue Ball jars with zinc lids and my china set.
On top of it sits an old radio I picked up for $7 at a yard sale, a small set of shutters that I paid $4 for and and old crate I bought for $1.50.
The bird and “J” initial were both bought new at Gordman’s for about $5 each.

The suitcases beside the safe were picked up at a yard sale for $2 for the set.

WP_20140806_008

This is a shot of the big blank wall in my living room. I always have a hard time decorating it to look like I didn’t  just throw stuff up there to fill ‘er up. It was taken at a weird angle, so I could get everything in one shot.
The plates were picked up at our local Goodwill for $2.50 each. I love the detail in them (that I’m sure you probably can’t even see!) They have an adorable scalloped edge. While it is a big ol’ chunk of plain white, it really gives a relaxing feel to my probably already too busy living room. I plan on adding black and white photos to them when I get tired of their stark whiteness.

The black mantel shelf is something my amazing Hubs made for me. I saw it, I wanted it, he built it. Have I told you lately how blessed I am to have this man!?!?

The book page banner took all of 5 minutes to make, but I love it! I do change out the banner rather often but this has been my favorite so far, so I’ve had it up for awhile.

The shelf is decorated with more yard sale finds. It changes often, usually with the seasons or holidays. I really love this shelf so much. I even have a white version in my bedroom.

The old tin ceiling tile was a flea market find. I think I paid about $20 for it.

Hope you enjoyed this tour of my living room walls!

Leave a Reply

