September 11th

Today is a new day. A new beginning. A new breath of fresh air. A new day for possibilities and opportunity.
I can’t help but feel a hole in my heart for those who lost that opportunity 13 years ago, when our entire nation was struck with tragedy.
Like most life changing events, I remember exactly where I was when I heard of the first attacks. (In my Child Development class, in one of those terrible “mobile classrooms,” in my Sophomore year.)

WP_20140906_007

The extent of the tragedy was too huge for me to understand, at that time. Until I got home and my parents took the time to explain what was actually happening to me, I didn’t understand. That evening, we sat on our couch (with my “boyfriend” who is now my Hubs) and watched in horror as we realized this was an attack and the beginning of a war.

Though we didn’t know anyone who lost their life, our life changed that day. To this day, when a plane flies too low or I see something out of the ordinary, my stomach falls, for just a second.

But then  I have to stop and think about our brave men and women who serve our country, giving so much of themselves. It makes you proud to be an American and confirms that we are still ONE.

 

Leave a Reply

