My Drug of Choice

I have lived a pretty sheltered life.

I’ve never done drugs or been drunk. I have tasted alcohol but thankfully I didn’t find it appealing at all. I’ve smoked a cigarette, which was more like dying from coughing because I had no idea what I was doing. Not to mention, I’m allergic to smoke, so that didn’t help. Ha! (Sometimes I wonder how teenagers even survive.)

However, I will admit that I am totally and completely, 100% addicted to caffeine and sugar. Not really sure which one, since they usually come together.
Everyday, for my entire 10 years of marriage, I started my day by making a gallon of sweet tea.
And everyday, by dinner time, that gallon of tea was gone.

Now that the kids are home with me, it’s usually gone by 2 or 3:00!

 imagesk

But I don’t always drink sweet tea…

When I go anywhere, I always stop to grab a Dr. Pepper fountain drink.
Sonic’s “Happy Hour” is probably the greatest thing ever created. I can’t even count how many times I have driven the 15 minute drive into town just to grab a Route 44 Dr. Pepper. It’s just so good.

Have you ever stopped to think about what you are drinking?

One night, I woke up in the middle of the night, with a terrifying thought.
I had just read an article debating whether or not sugar “feeds” cancer.
It may, or may not…the article really just said that some people believe it does but several studies have different findings, some saying yes, and some saying no.
Regardless, I am allowing my children to have a cup of sugar every single day, in their drinks! Not to mention the sugars in foods, candies or anything else they eat.

I made the half awake decision that we needed a change, right there in my bed, then I rolled over and went back to sleep.

The next day, I forgot about my decision until we were in the car, driving to the girls’ soccer games. I started telling them about my “dream” and Natali instantly chimed in saying “I wish we could do a family “water challenge.”
imagesX2D0TM6O

And so it began. We have been on a “water challenge” for the last 3 weeks.

Do we only drink water? No. I’ve probably stopped by Sonic three or four times and I’ve made 2 gallons of tea.

We have just really, really cut back on drinking anything other than water.

I wish I could say that I feel great, but in reality, I’m exhausted.

gbl
Who knew that I would be so sleepy without caffeine?
The first full day of no caffeine ended with a major headache and lots of puking.
I mean, shaking, raging headaches, cold sweats and throwing up are all symptoms of withdrawals.

Why was I feeling this just from not having my usually drink?

I was addicted. Caffeine was my drug.

My body was craving it.

But I stuck it out and now, I can usually go all day with no caffeine and not even notice.

jlh;
The kids have done great. Emersyn has always been a water-drinker but Natali, not so much. She is doing awesome though. The Hubs is definitely drinking the most pop, but he is exposed to it more. His work crew is used to stopping every morning to grab a drink at a gas station, but now when he stops, he opts for the smaller size and avoids the 44 ounces.

And guess what! I dropped a pants size in the first week of changing my habit and I continue to see a small change in my body everyday!

I’m praying that we stick with our new water habit and my kids will learn to love water.

Everyday it gets easier and easier!

Leave a Reply

