Student Blogs

My 10 year old has been after me for a few months to have a blog of her own. She wants to “blog” instead of “journal.”

At first, I was hesitant but finally gave in and am letting her blog, in place of her journal.

If anyone has a student who also has a blog, please share a link! I’d love to find some blogs for her to follow that are written by kids her own age, instead of adults.

While we’re on the topic of journaling, I just thought I’d share a little tip that I have used when journaling.

At the beginning of the school year, I sat down and came up with about 150 journal topics. Some I found while searching online, others I just thought up. I printed out my typed list of journal topics, cut them into strips of paper and let her draw a topic each day.

I’ve found that letting her draw her own topic creates much more interest for her. And it definitely beats me saying “Just write about what you did yesterday!” every single day!

Leave a Reply

