Looking towards next year

Lately I’ve been scouring the world wide web in search of next year’s curriculum.

I’ve been debating for a few months if I want to change anything up but I feel like this year worked out well for us, so I think I have decided to stick with what we have.

I really debated switching out Apologia but I couldn’t find anything that looked like it would be a better fit for us. I knew going into the “Flying Creatures” study that the kids probably wouldn’t be overly-excited about it.
We hit a slump this winter and didn’t touch it for a few months. Last week, we picked it back up and the kids have really enjoyed doing it again.

(I think the fact that we’re done with birds and are now studying other flying creatures may have a little something to do with it.)

Our only big change will be Emersyn’s math. Right now, she is doing Miquon, which she isn’t crazy about but she does do it, with only minimal grumbling. I have finally decided that I will start her on Teaching Textbooks 3.

Yes, it is geared for 3rd graders, but it starts out slow with the first chapter covering addition, ones and tens, odd and even numbers, counting by twos, days ,weeks, months and years, differences of one and sums of ten.

If it’s too hard for her, we will just find something else and try Teaching Textbooks after Christmas.

Ah, the beauty of homeschooling.

Natali will continue to do Teaching Textbooks. She will be doing the Pre-Algebra program.

We will be doing Apologia’s Zoology 3.  It is the study of Land Animals and I’m hoping it bounces around enough to keep the kids interested.

We will continue with Mystery of History, moving on to Volume 2.

We will also finish Road Trip USA, which is a 2 year program.

Natali will also continue her Easy grammar and Daily Grams.

I will still be looking for a good cursive writing program for Emersyn and a typing program for Natali.

Hopefully next year, we will be more excited about doing extras, not just the core subjects.

Have YOU started shopping for next year’s curriculum?

What changes do you plan to make?

What’s your favorite curriculum?

Leave a Reply

